## **History of Bethany-Pontypool United Church**

## By Edwin Challice

Prior to 1872 church services were held in a barn. Joint services were in charge of Methodists and Presbyterian ministers.

A Methodist Chapel was built at Graham's Corners one mile west of Bethany. A Bible in the Bethany United Church was presented in 1860. Another inscription in the Bible states "To Bethany Chapel, December 7<sup>th</sup>, 1870". This indicates that the first Methodist Church in Bethany village was built prior to 1870.

The first Methodist church in the village was a <u>little</u> white frame building on the same property as the present United Church. This Church was rebuilt and enlarged in 1899-1900 during the ministry of Rev Thomas Brown.

In 1925 Church Union occurred. Hereafter this church became known as the Bethany United Church.

## Ministers:

1872-1894	Rev. William Bennett
1894-1901	Rev. A.J. McMullen
1902-1905	Rev. George Yule
1906-1913	Dr. D.B. Mash

At this time, Pontypool was no longer associated with Bethany. From 1914 to 1925, Bethany was served by Rev. Archie Thompson and Rev. James Shene.

```
1925-1930 Alfred Poulter
1930-1934 Rev. L.W. Scott
1934-1936 Rev. R.W. Paton
```

From 1936 forward these ministers Edwin has known serving Bethany United Church:

```
1936-1941 Rev. Clarence H. Ferguson
1941-1944 Rev. A.W. Harding
1944-1948 Rev. James P. Henderson
1948-1950 Rev. W.N. Crandall
1950-1953 Rev. James Hampson
1953 Rev. Clifford Grant, who died
Year was completed by Rev. L. Norman
```

rear was completed by Nev. E. 100

1954-1960	Rev. R.R. Bonsteel
1960-1963	Rev. George Rickardson, with James Somerville as student minister
1963-1969	Rev. Bill Piercy
1969-1972	Rev. David Northly
1972-1977	Rev. G.F. Ficko
1977-1978	Rev. G.R. Montgomery
1978-1979	Rev. W.J. Graham
1980-1981	Rev. J.H. Paterson

1981-1983	Rev. J.J. Bridges
1983-1985	Rev. John M. Lindsay
1985-1989	Rev. Heather Smith
1989-2003	Rev. Janet White (later remarried, now Rev. Janet Stobie)
2003-2004	Rev. Robert Ball
2004-2005	Ann Austin-Cardwell (student minister)
2005-2013	Rev. Laura Borgerson
2014-	Rev. Ann Austin-Cardwell